Local and State News      National News and Beyond

Local and State News

Lansing Cats Reunite: Ronnie Hernandez and Sweet Energy and Bear and the All Stars

Two great band were reunite at the Green Door on July 24, 2016 to benefit Voiceless - MI: an organization to assist animals by caring for those in need through their foster-care system reduce the unwanted pet population with spay/neuter programs. Voiceless-MI is run solely on volunteer power

Bear and the All Stars
Ronnie Hernandez and Sweet Energy with CJ Vanston

The Lansing City Market is excited to announce the return of our summer concerts on the riverfront. The Grand Concert Series is comprised of Jazz on the Grand on select Wednesdays this summer, with Blues on the Grand following on Thursday. The City Market and LEPFA have been working with local organizations, including the MSU College of Music and MICA, to give back to the community and provide more entertainment options for Greater Lansing residents. The event’s free admission is due to generous sponsorship by various corporations in the area.

Bring a camping chair, but leave the food at home, because you can grab a drink and a burger at the Waterfront Bar & Grill, barbecue from Red's Smokehouse, or coffee and a sweet treat from River Town Cafe. All merchants will be open throughout the event.

The schedule of performers is as follows: l July 27th - Medium Rare, East Lansing High School Jazz Band August 24th - Orrick Ewing, Lansing Community College Jazz Band Lansing School District band group July 28th - Thornetta Davis, DeWitt Jr High jazz band August 25th - David Gerald Sept. 15th - Frog & the Beeftones

National News and Beyond


2016 Blues Blast Music Award Nominations Announced

In early May, a group of Blues music industry professionals, music critics, journalists, festival promoters, music venue managers, producers, musicians and others in the field, nominated the best in Blues music in twelve categories. The complete list of nominees is listed below and is also available at this web site at:


Fan wanting to vote to determine the winners will have the opportunity starting on  July 1, 2016 and continuing until August 15, 2016 on the website at http://www.BluesBlastMagazine.com. Voting is free and open to anyone who is a Blues Blast Magazine subscriber. Blues Blast Magazine subscriptions are always FREE and you are automatically signed up as part of the voting process on our website.

The Blues Blast Music Awards are presented by Blues Blast Magazine, the largest FREE weekly internet Blues magazine in all 50 states and more than 90 countries. The 2016 Blues Blast Music Awards ceremonies will be held at The Fluid Events Center in Champaign, Illinois on September 23rd, 2016

A complete list of the 2016 Blues Blast Music Award nominees:

Contemporary Blues Album
The Jimmys - Hot Dish* Eugene Hideaway Bridges - Hold On A Little Bit Longer * Victor Wainwright - Boom Town * Guy King – Truth * Toronzo Cannon - The Chicago Way * Shemekia Copeland - Outskirts Of Love

Traditional Blues Album
Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue * Bob Margolin - My Road * Chris James / Patrick Rynn - Trouble Don't Last * Jimmy Burns - It Ain't Right * Andy T-Nick Nixon Band - Numbers Man * Anthony Geraci & The Boston Blues All-Stars - Fifty Shades Of Blue

Soul Blues Album
Mr. Sipp - The Mississippi Blues Child * Benny Turner - When She’s Gone * Bey Paule Band - Not Goin' Away * Curtis Salgado - The Beautiful Lowdown * Johnny Rawls -Tiger in a Cage * Billy Price / Otis Clay - This Time For Real

Rock Blues Album
Dave Weld & The Imperial Flames - Slip Into A Dream * Walter Trout - Battle Scars * Mike Wheeler - Turn it Up * Peter Karp - The Arson's Match * Too Slim & The Taildraggers - Blood Moon * Tommy Castro & The Painkillers - Method To My Madness

Acoustic Blues Album
Andra Faye & Scott Ballantine - Coulda Woulda Shoulda* Matt Woods - Sawdust & Gasoline* Jimmy "Duck" Holmes - Live at Briggs Farm Blues Festival* Luther Dickinson- Blues & Ballads (A Folksingers Songbook) Volumes I & II * The Ragpicker String Band * Guy Davis - Kokomo Kidd

Live Blues Recording
Dave Muskett Acoustic Blues Band - Live From The Slippery Noodle * Jon Spear Band - Live Music is Better * Jimmy "Duck" Holmes - Live at Briggs Farm Blues Festival * Peter Karp - The Arson's Match * Mitch Woods - Jammin on the High C's * Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin' Altar Boys - LIVE At The Big Bull

Historical Or Vintage Recording
Oslo Bluesklubb - 20 ar * EllerSoul Compilation - Blues For Big Walter * Magic Sam Blues Band - Black Magic Deluxe Edition*  Henry Gray & Bob Corritore - Blues Won't Let Me Take My Rest * Bobby Rush - Chicken Heads: A 50-Year History Of Bobby Rush

New Artist Debut Album
Amanda Fish - Down In The Dirt * Shoji Naito - New Cool Old School * Danielle Nicole -Wolf Den * Ebony Jo-Ann - Please Save Your Love for Me * Jonn Del Toro Richardson - Tengo Blues * Corey Dennison Band

Blues Band
Lil Ed & The Blues Imperials * Bey Paule Band * Nick Moss Band * Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue * Victor Wainwright & The Wildroots * Andy T-Nick Nixon Band

Male Blues Artist
Sugar Blue * Kid Andersen * Bob Margolin * Curtis Salgado * Toronzo Cannon * Bobby Rush

Female Blues Artist
Fiona Boyes * Shaun Murphy * Danielle Nicole * Janiva Magness * Karen Lovely * Shemekia Copeland

Sean Costello Rising Star Award
Big Harp George * Markey Blue * Amanda Fish * Andy Poxon * Guy King * Corey Dennison